The first lighthouse was built on South Foreland in 1636 to mark both the headland and the southern extend of the dangerous Godwin Sands just off the coast. Trinity House took over the site and erected the current lighthouse in 1843. It was paired with a lower light and the two lighthouses, once aligned, showed the southernmost safe approach that could be made around the Goodwin Sands. The lower lighthouse was shut in 1904 and the upper lighthouse was itself made redundant in 1988.
The (upper) lighthouse is currently managed by National Trust and is open to the public most of the year. It can be reached by road or via a lovely walk from Dover along the iconic White Cliffs. The lower lighthouse is derelict and is not open.
Models shows the upper lighthouse as it currently appears.
|Kent, UK||51? 22′.50 N 03? 07′.00 W||18m||1843||not currently in use|
|1:250||6cm||60||2 x A4||4 [Difficult]|